Uncategorized

Sewing seams to work

I come from a long line of sewing addict. My mother own four sewing machines, my aunt is constantly posting pictures of her newest projects, and my grandmother has to look away every time she sees a sewing machine simply because she knows she can’t buy it. It’s no wonder that I fell in love with sewing.

Sewing is one of the ways, I have found helps to keep my anxiety down and it’s something that I enjoy doing. There are so many projects out there for people to work on and it can be a great way to focus your energy on something that is not as stressful.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Fabric- You can pick up fabric from most craft stores and even a few department stores. I tend to go to Walmart because they’re cheaper, but I will go to JoAnn’s if I know I’m going to need some specialty things
  • Pattern- There has to be a vague idea of something you want to sew. I tend to buy my patterns at fabric stores, or from online specialty stores. I recommend Simplicity Patterns or McCall’s because I just find them easier to follow.
  • Needle and Fabric- You need to stitch things together somehow!
  • Machine (completely optional)- this just makes it easier on bigger pieces.

Now, I’ll be the first to admit, this is not a coping skill for everyone. Sewing with a machine can be extremely stressful if threads start to bunch up or the something come undone. If you hand sew, you need to be careful on constant pricking. Projects also shouldn’t have such strict time limits.

17760932_975572882577544_6693667920008439159_o
My friend Maddie and I are both avid cosplayers. However, I made the mistake of putting our Star Trek Costumes off too long and while they both got done, I was tired and a little stressed out.

If you’re just starting out, do small projects first. Pillows and bags are what I found easiest. Then, once you feel comfortable, you can move on to bigger pieces, like clothing, quilts, or costumes.

So go try some sewing. It seams to work out.

Leave a Reply

